Posted by: roblanger | December 29, 2009

Advanced Marathoning

Just ordered a copy of Pete Pfitzinger’s well respected “Advanced Marathoning 2”. I’ve read a lot of positive things about this book and its training plans so I figured I would give it a shot for my training for the Mississauga marathon in May.

There are a some 18-week plans that have the runners cover either up to 90 kilometers per week or between 90 and 112 kilometers per week. I think, given my current level of fitness, I could comfortably do the “up to 90” plan so I think I’ll try to push myself to do between 90 and 112.

Marathon day is May 16th, which means my training will begin, in earnest, next week. I ordered the book from Amazon, so let’s hope it shows up in time.

As mentioned in an earlier post, I’ve been averaging about 75km/wk for the last few months. I’ll try to bump that up to about 85kms this week, and I should be ready to start my first week on the Pfitzinger plan next week.

If you’ve used any of the plans from this book, let me know what you thought.

Leave a Reply

Categories

