Posted by: roblanger | January 4, 2010

First Day of Training

This morning I completed the first run of my 18-week, 88k to 113k training plan. It was a 14k run with 4k warm-up, 6k tempo run (which I did at an average pace of about 4:15 per kilometer), and then a 4k cool down.

It was a challenging run, but overall it felt really good. The only difficulty that I had was some real exhaustion in my arms during the later stages of the tempo portion of the run. This was strange because I had never experienced anything like this before on any of my other speed work session. And, the only cross training I have done up to this point has been push-ups, so this was not something I was expecting. I guess I’ll have to put some more work into training my core.

Tomorrow, an 18k medium long run. Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

Categories

