Posted by: roblanger | January 25, 2010

Rough couple of weeks

Well, it’s been a rough couple of weeks with a lot of travel for work.

During week 2 of my training I had to go to Aruba for work (yeah I know, so rough). Fortunately, they had some great facilities at the hotel I was staying at so I was able to get all of my runs in, with some cross training to boot.

The only issue I had was with the treadmills. The damn things auto shut-off after 20 minutes. Not good when you have a planned 19k run. And I didn’t want to do it outside in unfamiliar surroundings with too much wind and humidity and no water belt. It really sucked having to reset the TM every 20 minutes.

Total clicks for week 2 was 90, with a 26k long run. That long run was really tough. I was supposed to do the last 13 at marathon pace, but bonked at 20k. I recovered enough to do the last 2k both at under 4:30 pace, but that was one tough run.

I also did something to my ankle on that run. It was outside in the snow and ice and I must have landed the wrong way at some point. It was really painful on my rest day on Sunday.

I decided not risking making it worse, and took a few days off and didn’t run until Wednesday the next week. Did 8k and it was still a little tender.

On Saturday, I went to a walk-in clinic and the doc gave me some anti-inflammatories, which got me running again pain free. I’m scheduled to go for x-rays this afternoon. Hopefully it’s nothing serious. Ended up being a bad week mileage wise though – 45k total.

I plan to get back on schedule this week and I have 18k scheduled for today that I plan on doing later this afternoon. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

