Posted by: roblanger | February 8, 2010

My First 100k Week

It certainly was a nice feeling of accomplishment on Saturday when I hit the 29k mark of my long run to signify that I had completed a total of 100k for the week; the first time I had ever run that much in a single week.

All of this running is really paying off too. I completed my long in 2 hours, 35 minutes. Not a fast pace at all; around 5:20/k. However, it was a pretty easy run. I didn’t really feel tired at any point, and I recovered quite easily too.

The only issue I had this week was a nasty blister on the big toe of my left foot. It developed during my mid-week medium long run of 23k. I popped it and ripped of the skin after the run and it remained pretty raw and tender. Even though I taped it up for my long run on Saturday, my sock was covered in blood after the workout. Fortunately, it wasn’t terribly uncomfortable, so I could continue to run without any problem.

I’m really enjoying my training using this Pfitzinger plan, and feel that if I’m fortunate enough to remain injury free throughout, and I’m able to keep up with the challenging workouts, that I will be ready both physically and mentally to make a good assault on a BQ time in May.

Responses

  1. This is awesome! Thanks for sharing this and congrats on your wicked training so far. Boston here you come!


Leave a Reply

Categories

