Posted by: roblanger | February 22, 2010

Recovery Week

As part of his Advanced Marathon plan, Pfitzinger regularly schedules recovery weeks, which occur approximately every 4 or 5 weeks of training. Both mileage and intensity (less speed work) are reduced from previous weeks, which help the body prepare for the intensity of the coming weeks of training.

After having completed two consecutive weeks of 100 kilometers, this week’s 88k schedule felt relatively easy to complete. The only issue I had was on my long run, where there was quite a bit of downhill running that has left my quads a bit thrashed. Hopefully, this won’t have too big an impact on my training this week, as I enter what Pfitz calls Mesocycle 2.

There are 4 mesocycles to this plan. The first, is to build endurance, the second is to build endurance and improve lactate threshold, the third, is race preparation with a lot of speed work, and the fourth, is the taper period.

My first week in Mesocycle 2 calls for 110 kilometers with a couple of days of hard running. I’m scared.

Responses

  1. Hey Rob, Kris just sent me the link to your blog this week and i have just finished reading all your posts. Just wanted to say thanks so much for inspiring me to get back to my training. After i finished reading your blog, i went running that afternoon and ran a faster pace then i ever have, and i am more motivated then ever to get my ass to boston. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks so much for sharing and inspiring me. Keep up the hard work, it will all pay off in the end.
    See you in a few months on the trail ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hey that’s awesome Stef! Thanks so much. See you in Hopkington at the starting line.

    Can’t wait till our race on the trail. See you then.


Leave a Reply

Categories

