Posted by: roblanger | March 17, 2010

From Incredible to Forgetable

Tough week last week. I had some pain in the posterior tibial tendon of my left ankle that felt pretty scary. It forced me to cut my midweek long run from 21k down to 11k.

I probably could have done the full distance, but that wouldn’t have been too smart. I ended up taking it pretty easy for the rest of the week in terms of intensity, but still tried to keep the mileage up. I still covered 96k for the week, so I’m pretty satisfied.

I had a tough long run scheduled for Sunday that was 26k with 17k at goal marathon pace. I had planned to take it very easy and just see how I felt. Instead of running it outside, I decided to do the run on the treadmill, just in case I needed to cut it short.

After the first 9k, I felt good enough to test out picking up the tempo. I ended up completing the remaining 17k at an average pace of 4:35/k. The ankle felt a little tender following that run, and I probably shouldn’t have risked such an intense workout, but I just couldn’t help myself.

I have my first race coming up on March 28th and I really need to be careful with my workouts so that I actually make it to the starting line in good enough shape to run. It’s a 30k race, and after Sunday’s good effort, I really want to run that race hard to see what I’m capable of.

I’m hoping to break 2 hours 20 minutes in that race. If I can do that in the middle of training that has me averaging about 100k/week, I’ll be really confident heading into my marathon.

Leave a Reply

Categories

