Posted by: roblanger | April 5, 2010

Long Recovery

After a very satisfying race last Sunday, I was a bit disappointed by how much time it took me to recover.

On Monday, my quads were pretty thrashed and I had difficulty walking. The delayed onset muscle soreness was unlike anything I had experienced before.

On Tuesday, I was scheduled for 14k, but couldn’t even imagine running 14 meters so I decided to take a well deserved day off. I tried to pick things up again on Wednesday with my scheduled mid-week medium long run of 24k, but had to shut it down after only 10k. The entire run my legs just felt like lead.

Thursday, I was able to get back on track and did 10k in the morning and an easy 6k in the evening.

Finally by Friday, I felt like I was getting back to normal and was able to almost complete a tough track workout. I was scheduled for 5 x 600m at 5k pace with an additional 10k of warm up and cool down running, but was only able to complete 4 and a half x 600m plus the 10k. All things considered, I was pretty happy with that workout. Ran my intervals at about 3:40 min/k pace, which is probably right on the edge of my 5k pace given my current fitness.

Saturday was an easy 8k and then Sunday, I met my friends in the Beaches for a nice long run. The weather was absolutely perfect and I felt great for most of the run, averaging 5:16/k for just over 29k.

Beaches Long Run

This week, I’m looking forward to getting back on track. It’s a scary one though with a couple of really tough workouts!

Leave a Reply

Categories

