Posted by: roblanger | April 19, 2010

Another Tough Week

It was another painful week, and I had to cut short three of my scheduled workouts. Not a good confidence builder at this point.

My mid-week long run was supposed to be 24k and I shut it down at 20k, due to ankle pain. Nothing really major, but enough to make me not want to push it any further.

On Saturday, I was really hoping to do a 10k time trial. but couldn’t make it past a 5k warm up and was concerned that I’d have to scrap my Sunday long run.

Went out on Sunday and felt pretty good. A little tender in the ankle to start, but after my warm up it worked itself out and I was able to make up for Saturday’s run by stringing together 10 sub 4:30 kilometers from about the 7k mark until 17k. Unfortunately, that’s where the wheels fell off. Somehow, I managed to lose a sock at the 18k mark. I’ll spare you the details and let you try to figure them out for yourself. Needless to say, I’m thankful that much of my long run route is rural!

I was able to get running again after my little “episode”, and managed to crank out another 6 or 7k, but started feeling a little queezy again and ended up walking the last 2k home. Fortunately, I still managed to get in about 25k and about 90 for the week.

The ankle doesn’t feel great today, but it’s a rest day, and I’m going to take full advantage of it. This is the last tough week on the sched before my taper begins. I’m supposed to run 110k this week with a 32k long run and a killer 5 x 1200m @ 5k pace workout. I’m not sure I’m going to risk that speed workout though. I’ll more than likely not put that much pressure on my ankle, and just do the the interval run @ 10k pace or slower.

Big congrats go to my buddies Nir and Harvey who ran Boston today. Nir ran a 3:16:03 and Harvey came in at 3:13:56! Incredible times from both, which means they’ve qualified for the 115th running next year and will back again next year… with me!

Leave a Reply

Categories

