Posted by: roblanger | April 20, 2010

New Kix

On Sunday I received the shoes that I plan to wear during my marathon, assuming they work well for me on my upcoming training runs. The Nike Lunaracer+ 2.

Nike Lunaracer+ 2

These are the first pair of Nikes that I have ever purchased. I think it had to do with the fit and feel of other Nike products I’ve tried in the past. However, when I put these puppies on in the store, I knew I had to have them.

I have become quite accustomed to training (and now racing) in racing flats, and my go to shoe of choice has been the Addidas Adizero Ace. The Ace is a lightweight flat that fits like a glove. It’s a great shoe, but there are hotspots on my baby toe where the overlays are sewn in. I mitigate this problem by wearing tape on my toes, but it’s not really ideal.

The new Nike products, however, use some kind of welding technique as opposed to sewing the overlays. The benefit of this is that the inside of the shoe is completely smooth. So no hotspots. And, what I like about the Nike Lunaracer+ 2 is that the fit is very similar to my Aces. That is to say, very much like a glove. As an added bonus, they are even lighter than the Aces too.

So, here’s hoping that they perform as well as they feel. I did my first run this morning with them. Just an easy 6k, but they felt really good. The first real test will be on my mid week long run though. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

