Posted by: roblanger | April 26, 2010

And so it begins…

After having completed the third mesocycle in my 18 week-70 mile/wk Pfitzinger marathon training plan, I now enter the fourth cycle, the taper.

While I still have some tough workouts ahead of me, all of the really challenging and high mileage weeks are complete, and I’m ready to make my assault on a Boston Marathon qualifying time. And, this was a really satisfying week to boot too.

Total for the week was 115k. Had an amazing and challenging workout on Tuesday; 18k with 5x1200m @ 5k pace. That was tough, but it felt so great to complete it. In addition, both of my long runs felt really easy this week. My Sunday long run was challenging because of some very high winds, but other than that, it was a real pleasure.

I didn’t suffer nearly as much with ankle pain this week as I did last week. In fact, I really didn’t have any trouble with my ankle at all. Could I be turning the corner? Just in time for my marathon? Fingers and toes are crossed.

My biggest challenge now will be psychological. Tapering can be very difficult mentally because of the reduction in overall distance and intensity. I just have to trust that I won’t lose any fitness by backing off, but I will be strengthing my body through rest and recovery, in preparation for the pounding it will take during the marathon.

My new shoes are great! I did 23k on Friday and 35k on Sunday with no pain and no hot spots. In fact, these shoes have the most amazing amount of cushioning for such a light weight racing flat. I almost felt like I was wearing a far more substantial cushioning shoe. The difference, however, is that these shoes really make me want to go fast! I absolutely love them.

Leave a Reply

Categories

