Posted by: roblanger | May 4, 2010

Final Long Run in AC

Less than 2 weeks to go now and the last long run of my training program was definitely one of my best. I was in Atlantic City for the weekend, which gave me the opportunity to do my long run along the city’s famous boardwalk.

I headed out from my hotel at about 6:30 am and arrived at the boardwalk, which was about 3k from the hotel, about 15 minutes later. When I arrived at the boardwalk it was pretty deserted at that time of the morning, as you can imagine. However, there were some random homeless people and a few others doing the early Sunday morning walk of shame.

Within about 45 minutes though, the boardwalk began to come alive with other runners, bikers, and walkers. This was nice because I find it helps me keep my energy and pace up when there are other people around.

It was absolutely beautiful running alongside the ocean at that time of the morning. As much as I love music, I don’t run with headphones (for a variety of reasons), so it was really calming to run with the sounds of the ocean waves crashing against the shore.

Most importantly, it was a completely pain free week of running. I think now that I’m in taper mode, and have reduced the overall distance I am  covering, I will continue to recover and become stronger before my race. Total distance for the week was about 80kms, which feels really easy coming off of all of those 100+km weeks. This week will be around 60k and then next week I will run about 40k before my marathon.

Atlantic City Long Run

Leave a Reply

Categories

