Posted by: roblanger | May 10, 2010

Race Week

It’s finally here. After four and a half months of intense training, this is the week I’ve been preparing for. I’m ready.

I’ve been a bit on edge this past week, and I can only imagine that it will get more intense as the week wears on. Taper madness has certainly taken hold of me. I think it is mostly due to the fact that I just don’t want anything to go wrong on raceday that is outside of my control, like bad weather, sickness etc., given all of the hard work and dedication I’ve put into trying to achieve this goal. I’m not dwelling on it, but it’s certainly making me a little bit anxious.

Last week was a very good week of training. Total distance run was 61k, with one pretty hard workout; 13k with 3 x 1600m @ 5k pace. That was my last really tough workout, although I have one hard run/confidence builder this week, which is 11k with 3k @ goal marathon pace, on Wednesday. Other than that, the goal this week is to rest and recover with a bunch of really easy, short runs.

Long range forecast for next Sunday is good, with a low of 11 degrees, but a high of 21 and not much wind. Fortunately, the start time is 7:30 am, so it’s not likely to hit the high while I’m on the course. If it stays under 15 degrees, it will be a perfect day.

I have been getting a lot of rest since I came home from Atlantice city. I’m generally asleep before 11pm and awake by 6:30 am. Unfortunately, I have to travel for work this week and will be gone for two nights, but will be home on Thursday. My plan is to wake up at 5:30 on Friday, and 5:00 on Saturday so that I will fresh and ready to go early Sunday morning.

My next post will be my race report. I enjoy posting to this blog, even though it’s only read by a handful of people. So my plan is to continue writing on a regular basis about my running as I prepare for the 2011 Boston Marathon!

Responses

  1. Hey Rob! Have a great week. I will be routing for you this weekend. Can’t wait to hear all about it. Good luck!

    • Thanks Kris. It’s going to be tough keeping focused on work. Especially since I’ll be in Montreal tomorrow until Thursday for a project. Yikes!


Leave a Reply

Categories

