Posted by: roblanger | October 19, 2010

He’s Baaaaaaaaack!

Ok, I’ve been rather delinquent in keeping up with this blog, when I said that I would continue to post.

I think part of the reason has been that it took me a long time after my BQ qualifying marathon to get motivated again about training. I certainly didn’t stop running; I’ve still been putting in about 75 kms per week on average, but I haven’t been doing the really tough workouts that were hard to recover from when I was training full on.

I’m motivated now though. Yesterday, I secured my entry into the 115th running of the Boston Marathon, and consider myself fortunate to have done so. Registration closed in 8 hours, shutting out thousands of qualifiers who want to run!!

I knew that the race would fill up quickly, but had no idea that registration would close on the first day. Last year, it closed after a couple of months, and the year before that you could still register well into the new year. Hundreds of runners on the Facebook Boston Athletic Association page are voicing their frustration and disappointment.

Officially, I will begin my 18 week Advanced Marathon training program on December 13th. However, I would like to lose about 5 or 6 kilos before then. I now weigh about 73 kilos, only 2 kilos more than when I ran Mississauga. But I would really like to be lighter for Boston, and I think around 66 or 67 kilos on race day will be ideal.

I have never been that light as an adult so I’m not sure what to expect when I get down there. I may find out that it is not optimal for me, but we’ll have to wait and see.

To accomplish the weight loss, I plan to increase my mileage and be very strict about the type of food that I eat. I still think I consume too much processed sugar and simply eliminating that from diet should go a long way to helping me reach my goal.

Thanks for reading and I’ll try not to be so delinquent with future posts.

Boston, here I come.

Leave a Reply

Categories

