Posted by: roblanger | December 3, 2010

Change

It’s interesting what achieving a major life goal like qualifying for the Boston Marathon does to one (OK, I’m making the assumption here that others who have achieved major life goals went through something similar, which may or may not be the case).

I learned a lot from my experience because of the important choices I had to make about the way I was living my life if I wanted to succeed. It wasn’t just that I had to train hard and eat well, but I also had to make the time to train hard, which meant giving up other activities important to me at the time (like sleep and tv), and had to learn to love the new food choices I needed to make (I prefer to look at this way now, than to think that I was giving something up, which may have been oh so delicious to me at the time).

We all have tough choices to make in our lives, but with a single minded focus on how those choices can impact our goals, the decisions should be easy. At least for me the decisions were easy. The tough part is always sticking with those decisions and being committed to following through. If the goals are important enough to you, commitment and follow through becomes a breeze.

I’m now able to bring that type of decision making, commitment and follow through to other areas in my life. Change is a natural and critical part of life, and 2011 is going to be a year full of change. It will also be filled with commitment, growth and incredible opportunity. I’m excited.

Leave a Reply

Categories

